DUI and DWI2018-08-22T10:32:33+00:00

DUI and DWI

Braddock Law has been handling DUI and DWI cases for years, and we realize the ramifications of a possible conviction are all-encompassing – emotionally, financially and professionally. It is extremely important to win your first DUI case. As a courtesy, we offer free consultations. Give us a call if you believe you have a case and we will provide our best guidance and, ultimately, the best representation. If you decide to retain our services, you will not have to personally appear at your arraignment. Also, at your trial, you will not have to speak at all.

DUI

Driving Under the Influence is defined as the act or crime of driving a vehicle while affected by alcohol or drugs. Being arrested for a DUI is serious and it is not a case to take lightly. Each time you receive a DUI, the charges and penalties increase.

People often try and configure a formula as to how much they can or cannot drink before driving safely. The bottom line is, driving sober is the only way to drive safely. Oftentimes, drivers have an “it won’t happen to me” mentality when it comes to considering the repercussions of driving under the influence. In reality, DUI offenses may affect your finances, work and family life.

Some states allow a plea bargain for lesser charges. For example, if a driver in California is charged with a DUI, they may be able to plea for a lesser charge. The lesser charge is a reckless driving charge, sometimes called a “wet reckless”. This rule does not apply in Mississippi. There are no shortcuts or warnings for Mississippi DUI offenders.

In the state of Mississippi, 1st and 2nd DUI convictions within a period of five years are classified as misdemeanors. A 3rd DUI conviction is a felony if it occurs within five years of being convicted for a first offense DUI. Neither are something you want on your record.

First DUI Offense

  • For the 1st Offense, DUI Penalties are as follows:
    • Up to 48 hours in jail or or at a DUI Victims Impact Panel
    • Fines from $250 – $1,000
    • License Suspension for 90 days
    • Attendance in an alcohol safety and education program

Second DUI Offense

  • For the 2nd Offense, DUI Penalties are as follows:
    • Jail time from 5 days up to 1 year
    • Fines from $600 – $1,500
    • License Suspension for 2 years
    • 2nd Offenses also require an I.I.D. – Ignition Interlock Device

Third DUI Offense

  • For the 3rd Offense, DUI Penalties are as follows:
    • 1 year up to 5 years in the State Penitentiary
    • Fines from $2,000 – $5,000
    • License Suspension for 5 years
    • 3rd Offenses also require an I.I.D. – Ignition Interlock Device

As you can see, some of these charges have a wide range of possibilities, such as the amount of fines and amount of possible jail time. The exact fines and sentence time is based on the case at hand. Judges will look at things such as damages incurred and the severity of the crash or collision, if applicable. Each case is unique. To best present your options, we will need all the information available about your case.

Choosing the right legal representation is of paramount importance when it comes to DUI defense. Braddock Law has the knowledge and experience in DUI and DWI law to best represent you and your family. If you have been charged or convicted of a DUI or DWI, do not wait to seek help. Contact us today for a free consultation.

DUI and DWI  Hattiesburg Mississippi DUI & Criminal Law Firm

Practice Areas